22
Jun
12

The Glee Project, Season 2 so far

The Glee Project is off to a good start this summer. The contestants have a wide range of personalities and life experiences, yet after watching 3 episodes I don’t have the same familiarity as I did with the first season’s cast.

As in season 1, Individuality was the first episode’s  theme and the week’s video would be to “Born This Way.” I was just getting to know the 14 contestants and you know that one show is not enough to show your real potential and ability. Yet someone had to go and it was Maxfield, a country singer with charm. Compared with the Tyler, the transgender teen, and Alyn, a spitfire Muslim of Turkish descent, Maxfield didn’t inspire the same story possibilities for Glee. While that reason wasn’t stated, I think that was what it came down to for the first episode. The other two offer story possibilities that inspire Ryan Murphy so it seemed to early to let them go.

Apart from my thoughts on their talent, I do begin to get some definite preferences. Lily comes across as narcissistic and shallow. She lacks concern for others and is rather open about that. I wouldn’t miss her. Alyn has a charming vivacity. Nelli’s quiet, but that makes me think she’s got depth and potential. Tyler reminds me of Urkel from Family Matters. 

I was surprised to see Dani go home at the end of Dance-ability, but then again I wasn’t. She’s a talented, likeable performer, someone who’d make a good friend, but she doesn’t fit into the bold colors and emotions of Glee. To become a Gleek, Dani would have to distance herself from all her strengths and best traits, to morph into a caricature as I’m afraid we’re seeing Sam and Damien do.

I was quite surprised and sad to see that Taryn decided to leave the show in this episode. While talented, Taryn admitted she felt it was too much to live in the dorm and participate in this show. I can see how someone could feel that way and reality TV isn’t the only on ramp for a career in music. I wish we’d have gotten to see more of her, but she probably chose wisely.


2 Responses to “The Glee Project, Season 2 so far”


  1. June 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    So far, I think Season 2 of TGP has been okay. Last season was amazing and I loved so many of the contestants. This season, I like Nellie, Michael, Ali, Abraham and Lily. I was surprised when Dani left. She had real potential!
    I’m excited to see who wins!🙂

    • June 22, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      I’m wondering if I’ll grow to like it more. It’s fine, but not great. I attribute that to the contestants. We’ll see who grows.

      I like Nellie, Michael, Ali, well most of them are fine. I find Mario needs to learn to socialize better and Lily comes on too strong for my taste.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,117 other followers

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,117 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 15,282 visits

My Script Frenzy Status


